A flexible, multidimensional, global organization

A flexible, multidimensional, global organization

Michael Sharland

michael-sharlandMichael Sharland

Michael has a research interest in optimising antimicrobial prescribing in children. He is the joint Chair of Penta. He was the previous Chair of the ESPID Research Committee. In the UK, he Chairs the Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health Infection Committee. He is the Chief Advisor on anti-infectives to the Children’s British National Formulary. He also Chairs the Department of Health’s advisory committee, Antimicrobial Resistance and Healthcare Associated Infection, which advises the UK government on antimicrobial use and resistance. He has published 220 papers on the optimal use of antimicrobials in children. He was the Chief Investigator of ARPEC, and is the CI of NeoVanc Project and of CAP-IT in the UK.

Carlo Giaquinto

carlo-giaquintoCarlo Giaquinto

Carlo is the President of Penta Foundation and Full Professor of Paediatrics at the University of Padua (Italy). Head of the paediatric HIV clinical trial unit of Padua Hospital, he is author of more than 220 papers in peer-reviewed journals.

Diana Gibb

diana-gibbDiana Gibb

Diana is a paediatrician, epidemiologist and programme leader of a large paediatric programme of trials and cohorts worldwide in HIV and other infections (eg sepsis and malaria in Africa). She has been working with the Penta network since its foundation more than 20 years ago and was pivotal in setting up and coordinating the network of clinical trials and cohorts across Europe, Thailand and South America which, to date, has mainly focused on paediatric HIV infection. She undertook research on paediatric HCV infection transmission and natural history in UK and Ireland and continues to collaborate in the ongoing follow-up of the paediatric cohort with Professor Mary Ramsay at Public Health England.

Claire Thorne

claire-thorneClaire Thorne

Claire Thorne is a Professor of Infectious Disease Epidemiology in the Population, Policy and Practice Research and Teaching Department, UCL Institute of Child Health, University College London, UK. Claire’s research has focused on the epidemiology of viral infections with respect to maternal and child health, with a particular emphasis on HIV, viral hepatitis and Zika virus. Claire leads the UK and Ireland National Surveillance of HIV in Pregnancy and Childhood and hepatitis B and C surveillance and cohort studies in the UK and Ukraine, and co-leads the European Pregnancy and Paediatric HIV Cohort Collaboration and PENTAHep (an international paediatric HCV clinical network). She is a Board Member of the Penta Foundation; a member of the Scientific Committee of the Penta ID Network; and an Advisory Board member of the International Antiretroviral Pregnancy Registry. Claire serves on technical working groups for WHO and UNICEF, and is a Member of the Regional Committee for Validation of Elimination of MTCT of HIV and/or syphilis in the WHO Region. She has been a member of the Scientific Committee for the International Workshop on HIV Pediatrics since 2009. Claire is a member of the International Advisory Board of Lancet HIV, Editorial Panel of Journal of Viral Eradication and Editorial Board of HIV Medicine. She teaches on the introduction to epidemiology and the immunisation and infectious diseases modules of the MSc in Paediatrics and Child Health at UCL and has extensive experience of supervising PhD and MSc students.

Paolo Rossi

paoloPaolo Rossi

Paolo is an Immunologist and Professor of Paediatrics at the Children’s Hospital Bambino Gesù/ University of Rome Tor Vergata. He dedicated most of his career to congenital immunodeficiency pathogenesis. Particularly, in the field of HIV, he has performed significant research on MTCT mechanisms, HIV molecular diagnosis in infants, and analysis of immunological mechanisms correlating to early ART. Paolo coordinated the only HIV therapeutic vaccine trial conducted on HIV infected children. He has published more than 260 papers in peer-reviewed journals.


We would like to update you on our recent activities